Department of Medicine

You are here

Hematology & Medical Oncology

Filter by Year

Dr. Ferrarone Named the Lee Cooperman Physician-Scientist of the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation

Dr. John Ferrarone
Dr. Ferrarone will receive a four-year award in the amount of $460,000 to support his research activities in the area of lung adenocarcinoma, which is the most common form of lung cancer.

Dr. Leonard Receives Honorary Fellowship Award from the Weill Cornell Medical College Alumni Association

Dr. John Leonard
This award recognizes faculty members whose scholarship, dedication, and leadership have greatly enriched the life of the Medical College, its faculty and its students.

Dr. Leonard Receives the 2017 Miriam G. Wallach Award

Dr. John Leonard
Recognizing extraordinary contributions to patient care, this award honors a physician who displays exceptional dedication in providing outstanding and compassionate patient-centered care and exemplifies altruistic and humanistic qualities.

Preventing Infections from Resistant Gut Bacteria in Vulnerable Patients with Cancer

Dr. Michael Satlin
Dr. Michael Satlin has been making critical advances towards understanding how to analyze stool samples to predict which bacterial infections may occur when a patient’s immune system is weakened after chemotherapy.

Karen Pekle Named Nurse of the Year by ACS: Skill, Compassion, and Commitment Exemplified

Karen Pekle
Karen works with cancer patients in the Division of Hematology and Oncology and her story was recently highlighted in the New York Post. This was the first time that the ACS has honored an oncology nurse. The Department congratulates Karen on this outstanding achievement.

Dr. Cruz Named National Hispanic Medical Association Resident of the Year

Dr. Nicole Cruz
The Weill Department of Medicine is delighted to announce that Dr. Nicole Cruz has been named the National Hispanic Medical Association Resident of the Year. This honor will be bestowed at the NHMA National Meeting in Washington, DC in May 2017.

Dr. Leonard Appointed to Interim Chair of the Weill Department of Medicine

Dr. John Leonard
Dr. John P. Leonard has been appointed to serve as the Interim Chair of the Weill Department of Medicine (WDOM) and a search for a new Chair for the WDOM has been initiated. Dr. Leonard is also the Associate Dean of Clinical Research at WCMC, the Chief of the Lymphoma Service, and is Associate Director for Clinical Research of the Weill Cornell Cancer Center.

Former Chair of Medicine Wins Prestigious ASH Mentorship Award

Dr. Ralph Nachman
The prestigious award reflects Dr. Ralph Nachman’s decades-long devotion to the training and mentoring of early-career hematologists. He will be honored at ASH’s 58th annual meeting and exposition held on December 4.

The Department of Medicine Annual Investigators Award Recipients of 2016

The 2016 Investitgator Award finalists
The 25th Annual Weill Department of Medicine Awards were announced on June 29, 2016 at Medicine Grand Rounds. This award is presented annually to members of the Weill Department of Medicine below the rank of professor who perform on outstanding levels in the areas of clinical and/or basic biomedical research. It is supported by the Michael Wolk Foundation.

The 2016 Fellow Award in Research Finalists Announced at Medicine Grand Rounds

2016 Fellows Award Finalists
Initiated in 2002, the Fellow Award in Research is presented annually to fellows within the Weill Department of Medicine who have presented outstanding research. This year's finalists were announced at the June 22 Medicine Grand Rounds.