The Young Investigators Award Recipients of 2021

The 30th Young Investigators Award was announced on June 30, 2021 at Medicine Grand Rounds. This award is presented annually to members of the Weill Department of Medicine below the rank of professor who perform on outstanding levels in the areas of clinical and/or basic biomedical research. It is supported by the Michael Wolk Foundation.


Carrie Johnston, M.D., M.S.

Infectious Diseases
Aging with HIV: Novel Biomarkers of Inflammation and Morbidity


Justin Kingery, M.D., Ph.D.

General Internal Medicine
Schistosomiasis and Cardiovascular Disease in 1,000 HIV-Infected and Uninfected Tanzanian Adults: a prospective cohort study

Russell Rosenblatt, M.D., M.S.

Gastroenterology & Hepatology
Black Patients Have Unequal Access to Listing for Liver Transplantation in the United States

2021 Young Investigator Award finalists

L to R: Drs. Tony Hollenberg, Carrie Johnston, Justin Kingery, Russell Rosenblatt