Department of Medicine

You are here

2017 David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award Finalists Announced

Established in 1995, the David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award encourages medical residents to continue their investigative research in internal medicine. Each year, senior medical residents submit research abstracts, and finalists are chosen to present their work during medical grand rounds.

The award was founded and is chaired by Holly S. Andersen, M.D. – Director of Education and Outreach at The Ronald O. Perelman Heart Institute, Associate Attending Physician at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, and Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College – and is funded by the Holly Andersen Heart Foundation.


Thomas Nicholson, M.D.

Internal Medicine Resident (PGY3)
"Plasma trail levels are associated with severity of sepsis and predict survival after critical illness"

First Runner Up

Harpreet Bhatia, M.D.

Internal Medicine Resident (PGY3)
"Four-Tier Classification of Pulmonary Artery Metric Severity for Diagnosis and Prognosis of Pulmonary Hypertension"

Runner Up

Zaid Al Marzooq, M.D.

Internal Medicine Resident (PGY3)
"Risk Factors for ‘Microsize’ versus usual Myocardial Infarctions in the Reasons for Geographic and Racial Differences in Stroke (REGARDS) Study"

2017 David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award finalists

L to R: Drs. Lia Logio, Zaid Almarzooq (runner up), Thomas Nicholson (winner), Harpreet Bhatia (first runner up), Holly Andersen (award sponsor)