For information about COVID-19, including symptoms and prevention, please read our COVID-19 patient guide. If you need to see your provider, please contact us to see if a Video Visit is right for you. Please also consider supporting Weill Cornell Medicine’s efforts against the pandemic.
Department of Medicine

You are here

2018 David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award Winner Announced

Established in 1995, the David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award encourages medical residents to continue their investigative research in internal medicine. Each year, senior medical residents submit research abstracts, and finalists are chosen to present their work during medical grand rounds.

The award was founded and is chaired by Holly S. Andersen, M.D. – Director of Education and Outreach at The Ronald O. Perelman Heart Institute, Associate Attending Physician at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, and Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College – and is funded by the Holly Andersen Heart Foundation.


Juan C. Osorio, M.D.

Internal Medicine Resident (PGY3)
Expression of Receptor-Interacting Protein Kinase 3 (RIPK-3) is Associated with Survival in Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer

First Runner-Up

Alejandro Pino, M.D.

Internal Medicine Resident (PGY3)
Detecting RIPK3 Levels in Cerebrospinal Fluid of Patients Undergoing Endonasal Endoscopic Resection of Primary Brain Tumors


Ayman Al Jurdi, M.D.

Internal Medicine Resident (PGY3)
Clinical Outcomes of HIV-Infected Kidney Transplant Recipients Managed with an Early Corticosteroid Withdrawal Protocol

Christopher Jakubowski, M.D.

Internal Medicine Resident (PGY3)
Risk of Venous Thromboembolism and Coagulation Factor Expression in Neuroendocrine Prostate Cancer

2018 Rogers Award finalists

L to R: Drs. Tony Hollenberg, Christopher Jakubowski, Juan Osorio, Alejandro Pino, Ayman Al Jurdi, Holly Andersen (award sponsor)