2021 David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award Winner Announced

Established in 1995, the David E. Rogers Memorial Research Award encourages medical residents to continue their investigative research in internal medicine. Each year, senior medical residents submit research abstracts, and finalists are chosen to present their work during medical grand rounds.

The award was founded and is chaired by Holly S. Andersen, M.D. – Director of Education and Outreach at The Ronald O. Perelman Heart Institute, Associate Attending Physician at NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital, and Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College – and is funded by the Holly Andersen Heart Foundation.


Xiaoli Mi

Resistance Mechanisms for Non-covalent Inhibitors of Bruton’s Tyrosine Kinase


Youmna Abdelghany

Association of Urine and Bronchoalveolar Lavage Fluid Lipocalin-2 Levels with Clinical Measures of COPD: An Analysis from The SPIROMICS Cohort


Lauren Balkan

Perceived Stress is Associated with Incident Heart Failure with Preserved Ejection Fraction

Benjamin Gordon

Prevalence and Factors Associated with Vitamin C Deficiency in Inflammatory Bowel Disease

2021 David E. Rogers Award finalists

L to R: Drs. Tony Hollenberg, Youmna Abdelghany, Benjamin Gordon, Lauren Balkan, Xiaoli Mi, Holly Andersen