Department of Medicine (DOM) Hosts Employee Recognition Party at Griffis Faculty Club

Celebrating the first year of the newly launched Star Performer Employee Recognition Program, the DoM hosted a party at the Griffis Faculty Club on November 7. All Star Performers and Super Star Winners, who were announced over the past year, were honored in speeches given by members of the Results, Rewards & Recognition Committee: Patrick Gallagher (Director, Human Resource Operations), Nancy Bennett, (Associate Director of Faculty & Staff Support), Tipton Ford (Chief Administrative Office & Vice Chair for Business Affairs), Dr. Carl Crawford, Dr. Linnie Golightly, Kristin Seara (Cardiology Practice Operations Manager).

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Department of Medicine Star Awards. Three Star Performers were selected by the RRR (Results, Rewards, Recognition) Committee to receive additional awards, which acknowledged, years of service, outstanding performance and extraordinary dedication. The five Star Award winners were: Rising Star Award, Tony Nepomuceno (Patient Coordinator, Weight Management & Metabolic Research Center); Guiding Star Award, Rosemerie Marion (Nurse Practitioner, Nephrology & Hypertension); Shining Star Award, Bianca Kumar (Clinical Practice Nurse, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Jill Roberts Center for Inflammatory Bowel Disease); and Shooting Star Award, Yvette Soltren (Practice Supervisor, Pulmonary Medicine & Critical Care). Diana Pierre (Senior Medical Secretary, Gastroenterology & Hepatology) received the Lucky Star Prize in a random draw at the party.

The festive occasion was enjoyable for all and recognized the outstanding skills and service demonstrated by a wide array of staff within the department. These employees were chosen based on nominations provided by patients, fellow colleagues, and supervisors, which is gathered and reviewed by the RRR (Results, Rewards, Recognition) Committee.